Reviews

2018-11-27
I moved to Fairplay from Denver in May 2018. When I first moved to the area one of my biggest complaints was that there were no innovative eateries in town. I was so delighted when Salado opened, it was like the urban foodie gods answered our prayers. The menu is phenomenal; the atmosphere is warm and welcoming; and the libations are amazing. I highly recommend Salado to anyone looking for a quality dining experience in Park County.
2018-08-05
We have been living part time in Fairplay/Alma for nearly 20 yrs. During this time we have tried virtually all the eating establishments hoping for something other than bar food (btw - with the new owner the best bar food is at South Park Saloon). Finally an establishment with high end food. We had the oyster, trout and pork shank. All were outstanding. I have friends that are chefs (one "top chef") and the guys at Salado are right up there with them. Prices are considerably less than if you were in the city. I highly recommend coming to Fairplay to get a great meal.
2018-08-02
My husband and I have been visiting FairPlay for more then 20 years... we've been to just about every restaurant! Salado's is by far one of the best meals I've had anywhere!& The food totally deserves 5 stars!!! An absolutely delicious meal!!! The green chili is to die for and my husband's short ribs were so tender and flavorful! The chiefs have created an amazing menu.
2018-07-30
Looking for some upscale cuisine in a small mountain town? Well, "Get yer 'butt' up that pass" to Salado! A new eatery in Fairplay... where burros are kings, the air is thin and the food is REALLY Fine! The setting is encompassed in a Southwest style courtyard... indoor/outdoor seating with a relaxing fountain to soothe the eyes and ears. To start, the SW style cocktails are to die for!! I kid you not! An incredible array of exotic, easy to slide down, drinks will set you up for an utterly exquisite meal! Incredibly tasty and beautiful to look at. Like Trout? Since South Park is a "Trout Fishing Capital", why not? That's what I started with and I've not been let down yet! I've had 6 meals there already, which is over the top for me. That's how good this place is! PS, the smiling wait staff is outstanding also!
2018-07-29
Easily one of my favorite meals I've ever eaten! We had cactus fries and cornhusk wrapped salmon. The cactus fries were unique and delicious, the salmon was cooked to perfection and outstanding! The portions were adequate, and presentation superb. The service was also perfect. The wait staff was just attentive enough, but not bothersome. I'm excited for our next visit to Fairplay so we can come back!
2018-07-22
Pride of ownership is immediately apparent at Salado. The outside patio is delightful and perfect for warm summer days. The menu is creative and everything that we tried was perfectly prepared and presented. Salado offers handcrafted signature cocktails that are equally delicious and beautiful, the Margaritas are a must have and the bar so pretty. Service is welcoming, attentive and professional. This is simply a great place to go and a welcomed addition to Fairplay. We are looking forward to visiting this wonderful restaurant soon and often.
2018-07-21
Must eat here! I went off of the other reviews and was not disappointed. Try the cactus fries. There are similar to tempura green beens but a little bit limper. They are served with a cilantro aloe and a prickly pear sauce. I liked both. For the main I had the pork shank. It is huge and have leftovers. It is fork tender. The polenta that comes with it is like nothing I have had. It reminded me of Thanksgiving cornbread stuffing with the herbs but then there is a hint of something sweet. It is a nice surprise and make the dish.
2018-07-18
We chose this place because it was one of very few restaurants open in town. The menu prices were much higher than I expected, based on the outside appearance of the establishment. I was pleasantly surprised when our meals arrived. The plate presentation was top notch and both our meals were delicious. This restaurant deserves a five star rating. I hope they can survive in a small town environment.
2018-07-17
My husband and I have been waiting forever for a restaurant serving outstanding food to open in Fairplay. The wait is over! I am a former chef in NY and so I can be picky about food. I was simply blown away by this restaurant, as was my husband. The food is inventive, modern Southwestern inspired and I don't think I've ever had a better example of this type of cuisine during numerous trips to Tucson, Taos or even Santa Fe. Everything we had was incredible and we will go back in a few days to try more items from this very tantalizing menu. We had the cactus pad fries as a starter along with prickly pear margarita. The margarita was beautiful and delicious and not overly sweet as I've experienced in New Mexico. The cactus fries I am dreaming about--they were so novel and delicious and addictive. Very lightly coated in tempura batter and lightly fried (not greasy whatsoever) and they came with two delicious dipping sauces, one was a prickly pear sauce and the other a sort of mildly spiced ranch. Wonderful! Must have them again--such a unique and wonderful set of flavors. And we each had entrees that we loved. I had a wonderful beef short rib with an espresso-brown sugar sauce along with delicious roasted sweet potatoes and sauteed spinach--each bite was perfect and the short ribs were melt in your mouth tender and not at all greasy or fatty as can be the case in the hands of far less talented chefs. My husband had a southwestern pasta dish, which was wonderful. We shared an incredible pear rhubarb cobbler with very flavorful vanilla ice-cream, which made a perfect finish. The waitress and bartender were wonderful, the interior and outdoor patio are lovely (casual and inviting, though very handsome) and we had a nice chat with the warm owner and chef as we were leaving. We will be back very soon and very often. This is the restaurant that Park County residents and visitors have been waiting for.
2018-07-14
Wonderful food and fabulous people! We were completely wowed by the appetizers and blown away by our entrees. Everything we had was amazing and the prickly pear margaritas were to die for. We sat in the courtyard next to the fountain and loved the ambiance of the gardens. This family staff was so accommodating. And to top it all off, the fried ice cream was the best we have ever had... and trust me, we've tried a lot! Wether you are a resident looking for a delicious weekly hang out, passing through, or having a special evening (like us enjoying our first anniversary), make sure to stop by this amazing restaurant for a perfect experience.
2018-07-14
Salado's brings a breath of fresh air to the restaurant scene in Fairplay. Their menu is unique and wonderfully delicious. I've eaten there several times already. The soup of the day has been outstanding each day no matter what the flavor. The Acorn squash soup was to die for. Also love the Caesar salad with a hint of heat. Specialty drinks are a treat as well...prickly pear margaritas and pomegranate gin and tonics. I will go back again and again